Choosing Hotels

In my last post I talked about using the site betterbidding.com.

If you’re a control freak like me, or risk averse, sites like Hotwire.com are ones you stay away from.   Personally, I can’t imagine going online, booking a hotel and not knowing which one it is.  After spending a zillion dollars on flights to some destination, I do not want to spend a gazillion on some hotel that has not gone through the proper vetting  process.

By vetting, I mean using tripadvisor.com.   In the olden days, before tripadvisor, you would look up a hotel online (apparently not that olden of days), and pray they weren’t scamming you.  The worst was one you’d get to the hotel and find that half the place had been renovated and the other half was pre-1970.  Yuck!  This happened to us once at the Kensington Close Hotel in London.  My husband (at the time we weren’t married yet) and I were taking a trip to London with his parents.  They live in the Netherlands, so we traveled from there, via the ferry in Calais, France, to London.

I was in charge of getting us a hotel.  So I went online and found the Kensington Close Hotel.  It had a great location, decent price, and good looking rooms.  Here’s what the web-site showed:

Not bad, right?!  I was so excited when we checked in.  The last time I was in London was just after high school, and it soon became my favorite city (although it’s a toss up now with Paris). We check in, get rooms on the same floor, and head up the elevator.

We got off the elevator, and stepped into a dilapidated hallway.  uh-oh.  Then we opened the doors to our rooms, and double uh-oh.  I was mortified.  It looked like the room hadn’t been updated since the London bombings of WWII.  And they had been a casualty of such bombings!  The wallpaper was peeling off the wall, even hanging in one spot.  The carpet had huge stains on it, the wall had mold in the seams, and the bathroom – really, I can’t go into it in fear that some of you reading are eating right now.  Needless to say, the photo on the website did not match the room I walked into.

Frank’s parents put on their best face and acted like everything was ok.  Keep in mind, this was a decent priced place, not CHEAP.   It was down-right nasty.  Here’s the matress:

We were EXHAUSTED after the long day of travel, and really needed a shower.  Naturally, the tub was clogged.  By the time the water got hot, I was standing in a foot of cold water and needed to take a quick shower so A) the tub wouldn’t overflow, and B) Frank had time to shower before it DID overflow.

By the time I was done getting ready, doing my best not to touch any surfaces, I was pissed! And embarrassed!  My in-laws are very sweet, polite people that wouldn’t think of going down to a front desk causing a ruckus.  So I had to do it myself, and certainly not in-front of them.  After all, what future daughter-in-law wants their in-laws to know what a Bitch there son will be marrying?! right?

I walked down to the front desk and asked them to change our rooms.  I was informed this was a standard room.  I asked the clerk to open their website, which he did.  Then I asked him to look at the photo (above) and tell me if he thought they looked the same.  “No, the one on the site is an updated room.”

OOOOOOOHHHHHHHHHHH….. so That’s how this works!

After barraging him with the whole false advertising spiel, we were handed the keys to our lovely new, updated room.  The one I had intended to book in the first place.  All is well that ends well.

I was fortunate enough to find Tripadvisor early-on, and have used it for every hotel booking since! That’s my vetting process – check tripadvisor.  Easy enough.   But without knowing the hotel name, I’m outta luck.  Or maybe not… thanks to betterbidding.com.

Leave a Reply

