Wanderlust

Wanderlust.  Is that one word?  Spell check (my dear old friend) hasn’t drawn its jagged red line, so I guess it is one word.

Wanderlust.  Why me? That deserves an exclamation point too.  Why me?!  I have the life.  All the comforts of a very nice life; caring husband, healthy happy child, family and friends, nice home in wine country, vacations, etc…  Looking at this list, there’s something interesting -would most people list more “things?”  I have mentioned my home I guess.

I even have a job now.  When I started this blog I didn’t have one – that’s when the writing stopped.  It took some time to get adjusted to the new way of life.   Even my job is nice.  Three flexible days a week at a tech company. The people are wonderful to work with and the environment is fantastic.  There’s “beer on deck” on Fridays, where we all hang out.  We had a “real” Christmas party this year.  No one has an office, not even the CEO -he has an open work space like the rest of us.  Mixed drinks on Thursdays.   Home-made waffles.  I could go on.  You get the point.

All of this and I still want to leave.  I come home from a trip (the latest was the Big Island), and I’m ok for a week or two.  Then the ache starts.  I long to go somewhere.  I start checking Expedia for flights.   That’s when my dear sweet husband tells me we just got home and can’t afford the time or money to go on another one now.  I secretly mope and tell him “I know… I just like to look.”  Which is true.  I don’t mention the ache – the desire I have to explore.

I want to explore.  No.  I need to explore.  But why?

Is it because my job isn’t mentally rewarding enough?  During law school I had wanderlust, but not as bad.  It’s something to ponder.  I’ll think about it and write more.  I’d love to hear what other people experience…

Leave a Reply

